Irwindale, 14 Individual Racers Earn Titles at Jr. Finals
Oct. 9, 2023

photos by Bob Johnson

Fourteen different racers visited the winner’s circle during the Division 7 Jr. Finals at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Irwindale Dragstrip won the team championship during the three-day event held in late September.

Here are final-round results/photos from the weekend:


Summer Snider earned the 6-9 class Wally when she defeated Vivianna Balcena in the final round.

Jenna Chesleigh, far lane, used a reaction-time advantage of more than a tenth to get past Rexton Bird in the 10-12 age-group final.

In the 13-14 bracket, Christian LaPierre, far lane, clocked a 7.919 to defeat Chase Crandall, who finished second with a 7.965.

Kashen Frye, far lane, got the automatic nod in the 15-17 category final when Paige Smith red-lighted.

Chris Klostreich, far lane, turned a .034 to .082 lead at the Tree into a 6.928 to 6.896 win against Emersyn Rose Pires in the Jr. Comp title round.


Jayce Lamb claimed top honors in the 6-9 age-group Race of Champions, defeating Summer Snider in the final.

Boden Cook, near lane, bested Malaniah Wasso to earn the Wally in the 10-12 class.

Jeffrey Garner, near lane, earned the 13-14 category Race of Champions title when he stopped Aerin Rogers in the title round.

Ethan Williams, far lane, outlasted Luke Makovicka to claim the 15-17 Race of Champions crown. It was one of two wins for Williams on Saturday. He also won the Jr. Shootout (results below).


Vivianna Balcena, far lane, overcame the reaction-time lead of Caden Olivera to win the 6-9 bracket Jr. Shootout.

Parker Schroeder, far lane, got the automatic nod in the 10-12 age-group final when Jace Renoll fouled out.

Chase Sullivan, far lane, used a .067 to .113 reaction-time edge into victory over Mason Phlegar in the 13-14 class title round.

Ethan Williams’ second win of the day came when Colt Saum, near lane, red-lighted in the 15-17 category final.

The Jr. Comp final was a family battle with Ayden Pires and Emersyn Rose Pires batting for the trophy. Ayden earned bragging rights when Emersyn Rose fouled.


Jace Renoll won the Nic Woods Racing Engine race, defeating a red-lighting Gavin Pine in the title round.


Irwindale Dragstrip Team 1 won the team championship. Irwindale Team 3 finished second, followed by the two Famoso/ANRA teams and The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.