Shannon, Christensen, Vehar, Scholtz, Nazarenus Win 2021 Division 5 Championships
July 8, 2021

Brenna Shannon (age 6-7), Cooper Christensen (8-9), Lily Vehar (10-12), Breyden Scholtz (13-14), and Kylee Nazarenus (15-17) laid claim to the 2021 Division 5 Jr. Dragster championships after outlasting the competition at the championship event at Bandimere Speedway.

photo by Scott Arnold, SRA Photo

Shannon cut a .025 light in the 6-7 age-group final, then ran a 14.447 (14.20 dial) to turn on the win light against Bora Tork Jr., who finished with a 14.494 (14.25).

In the 8-9 title round, Aiden Rizner got off the starting line first, but he carried too much momentum on the top end and broke out with a 12.068 (12.15). That opened the door for Christensen, who also broke out but ran closer to the number with a 13.380 (13.40).

Vehar ran right on her 9.05 dial to claim top honors in the 10-12 bracket. Logan Sweetman finished second with a 9.296 (9.13) against Vehar in the final.

The 13-14 final was decided at the Tree when Xavier Gregory red-lighted. That turned on the win light in the lane of Scholtz, who posted an 8.040 (8.02) on his victory pass.

For the second straight year, Nazarenus was the last driver standing in the 15-17-year-old age group. Nazarenus left the starting line first, .023 to .139, and turned the advantage into an 8.015 (7.99) to 8.016 (8.01) win against Brody Woolverton.