Theofelis, Holbrook, Dawson, Collecchi, Peters, Condon take top honors at Division 6 Championships
Oct. 10, 2019

photos by Robert Grice

Ian Theofelis (Jr. Lightning Race of Champions), Kort Holbrook (Jr. Thunder Race of Champions), Mya Dawson (Jr. Street Race of Champions), Jiovanni Collecchi (Jr. Lightning), Shahalee Peters (Jr. Thunder), and Mitchell Condon (Jr. Street) were the big winners during the 2019 Division 6 Jr. Championships event at Pacific Raceways.

Theofelis, who won the NHRA Jr. Drag Racing Western Conference Finals presented by CatSpot over the summer, added more hardware to his trophy case when he bested Luke Cavar in Saturday’s Jr. Lightning Race of Champions final. Theofelis, near lane, cut a near-perfect .005 light, then clocked an 8.069 (8.03 dial) to turn on the win light over Cavar’s 8.132 (8.07).

Holbrook, far lane, got the automatic nod in the Jr. Thunder Race of Champions title round when Cole Dickhoff red-lighted. Holbrook ran right on his 8.96 dial en route to victory.

Dawson took home the hardware in the Jr. Street Race of Champions, defeating Shyenne Sherlock in the final. Dawson ran a 9.482 (9.47) to defeat Sherlock’s slowing 10.817 (10.61).

Collecchi, far lane, put together a near perfect run, pairing a perfect .000 light with a .002-over 8.04, to the win in Sunday’s Jr. Lightning final against Selena Lenihan, who broke out with a 7.899 (7.92) while trying to chase down Collecchi.

Peters, far lane, ran right on her 8.99 dial to turn on the win light in the Jr. Thunder title round. Dickhoff was again relegated to a runner-up finish in the class, this time breaking out with an 8.852 (8.90).

The Jr. Street final was decided on the starting line when Davis Deming turned on the red-light. Condon also left before the Tree but by a lesser margin, giving him the win.