Rizner, Newman, Duhachek, Rawaillot, Thyssen win 2019 Division 5 championships
August 7, 2019

Aiden Rizner (age 6-7), Deegan Newman (8-9), Logan Duhachek (10-12), Samantha Rawaillot (13-14), and Chandler Thyssen (15-17) won the 2019 Division 5 Jr. Dragster Championships, outlasting the fields in their respective age groups during the championship event at Bandimere Speedway.

In the 6-7 age group, Erie, Colo., racer Rizner defeated Littleton, Colo., runner Allen Miller, 14.424 (14.14 dial) to 15.431 (13.91), to claim the trophy in that class.

Bernalillo, N.M., competitor Juan Moreno left the starting line first in the 8-9 class final, but Newman, who lives in Brighton, Colo., was able to drive around him and win on a 12.167 (12.12) to 13.557 (13.64) count.

Duhachek, an Arvada, Colo., competitor, also overcame a starting-line deficit to win in the 10-12 class title round, driving around Miguel Rivera, from La Veta, Colo., to win. Duhachek clocked an 8.934 (8.95) vs. the 9.114 (9.19) of Rivera.

Fort Lupton, Colo.’s Rawaillot led the 13-14 age-group final from start to finish, powering to a 7.991 (7.93) to 9.492 (9.44) win against Commerce City, Colo., racer Macayla Stark.

Thyssen took the 15-17 class title home to nearby Lakewood, Colo., when La Vista, Neb., runner Howard Selden red-lighted in the final. Thyssen ran an 8.064 (8.08) en route to victory.