Brundidge, Nelson, Rivette, Maitland, Rivers claim Division 4 championships
Sept. 17, 2019

photos by Robert Grice

Jovee Brundidge (age 6-9), Camron Nelson (10-12), Timothy Rivette (13-14), Bella Maitland (15-17), and Conner Rivers (Race of Champions) took top honors during the Division 4 Jr. E.T. Finals at Texas Motorplex.

Ada, Okla., runner Brundidge, far lane, got off the starting line first in the 6-9 class final and carried the advantage to a 14.039 to 11.844 win against Healdton, Okla., racer Hunter Opshal.

In a battle of Texas racers, Pearland’s Nelson, far lane, bested Montgomery’s Mallory Mosley to claim the trophy in the 10-12 bracket. After leaving the starting line within .007-second of each other, Nelson and Mosley battled all the way downtrack with Nelson’s 8.938 turning on the win light over Mosley’s 9.063.

Beach City, Texas’ Rivette, near lane, turned a starting-line advantage of six-hundredths into victory over Ratliff City, Okla., competitor Crue Garrett in the 13-14 age group. Rivette clocked a 7.956 vs. the 7.921 of Garrett.

Maitland, of Brenham, Texas, got the automatic nod in the 15-17 class title round when DeLeon, Texas’ Braden Bettis, near lane, red-lighted. Maitland ran an 8.044 en route to victory.

Kountze, Texas, racer Rivers paired a .033 light with an 8.016 to claim victory in the Race of Champions final. Royse City, Texas’ Carson Russell finished as the runner-up with a 7.977.

Houston Team 1 won the team championship, tallying 22 points. Ardmore Team 1 (16 points), Houston Team 2 (12), Texas Motorplex Team 1 (9) and Tulsa Team 1 (8) rounded out the top five.