Kershner, Shoemaker, Waid, Blaker, Wruble, Smolenski win Division 1 Titles
Aug. 21, 2019

photos by Diane Kubicke

Seth Kershner (age 6-9), Gavin Shoemaker (10-12), Alexis Waid (13-14), William Blaker (15-17), Ryan Wruble (Jr. Street), and Chris Smolenski (Race of Champions) were the big winners at the Division 1 Jr. Championships at Mason-Dixon Dragway.

Kershner, near lane, took home the 6-9 age-group Wally when he bested Cody Cumming in the final round. Kershner got off the starting line first, and used the advantage to defeat Cumming, 12.042 (12.00 dial) to 12.397 (12.37).

Shoemaker, near lane, got the automatic nod in the 10-12 title round when Sean Kershner red-lighted. Shoemaker ran an 8.935 (8.91) on his victory pass.

Waid, a Division 1 champion in 2014, added another championship to her resume when she bested Travis Paquin in the 13-14 class final. After getting off the starting line first by a tenth, Waid, near lane, eased her car to an 8.006 (7.96) to turn on the win light against Paquin’s 7.938 (7.90).

Blaker, far lane, earned the 15-17 category trophy when Lorelie Hoover fouled in the final. Blaker ran right on his 7.92 dial en route to victory.

Wruble, far lane, scored top honors in Jr. Street, winning the double-breakout final over Dylan Moore, 8.998 (9.00) to 9.081 (9.12).

Smolenski, far lane, outlasted the tough field of track champs to claim the Wally in the Race of Champions. The final was decided on a double breakout with Smolenski’s 7.884 (7.90) turning on the win light over the 7.921 (7.95) of Chase Marrs.

Team Spirit Award

Best Appearing Car

Best Engineered Car

Consolation Race Final