MacNicol, Westmoreland, Wilson win Division 2 LODRS championships
Dec. 23, 2017

Dylan MacNicol (age 6-9), Logan Westmoreland (10-12), and Morgan Wilson (13-17) tallied the most points in their respective age groups to earn the championships in the Division 2 NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series. A racer’s best five of seven events counted towards his or her final total.

MacNicol won twice and recorded two runner-up finishes during the season to claim top honors in the 6-9 age group. Westmoreland also won twice and had two runner-up finishes to claim the 10-12 class title. Wilson dominated the 13-17 class, winning four times en route to her championship.

MacNicol and Wilson clinched their titles before the final race of the season, while Westmoreland used a clutch runner-up finish at the final event to lock up his championship. Following are final-round results from that final race at Rockignham Dragway.

Final-round results from the Division 2 NHRA Lucas Oil Drag Racing Series event at
Rockingham Dragway in Rockingham, N.C.:

Driver Reaction E.T. (Dial)
Dylan MacNicol -.027 11.967 (11.90)
Aaron Kennedy -.012 14.032 (14.03)
Budd Trammell II .025 8.963 (8.90)
Logan Westmoreland -.015 9.264 (9.23)
Morgan Wilson .031 8.039 (8.01)
Baylee Mize .054 8.094 (8.10)

Photos by Rhonda McCole (

6-9 final round
Dylan MacNicol, near lane, defeated Aaron Kennedy to win the 6-9 age-group final.

10-12 final
Budd Trammell II, near lane, bested Logan Westmoreland in the 10-12 title round.

13-17 final round
Morgan Wilson, far lane, capped her championship season off with a win against Baylee Mize in the 13-17 final.