Chun, Dobson, Jackson earn second titles during Division 6 Jr. Championships
Sept. 11, 2017

Cooper Chun picked up his second win in Division 6 Jr. Championships competition, adding this year's Lightning title to the one he earned in the Thunder Race of Champions in 2015. Chun was joined in the winner's circle by Tyler Dobson, who repeated as the Jr. Street champ; Hunter Jackson, who backed up last year's Lightning victory with a win in the Jr. Street Race of Champions; and first-time winners Sydney Jung (Thunder), Duncan Gray (Thunder Race of Champions) and Zachary Gaetz (Lightning Race of Champions).

Final-round results from the Division 6 Jr. Championships at
Woodburn Dragstrip in Woodburn, Ore.:

Driver Hometown Reaction E.T. (Dial)
Syndey Jung Surrey, B.C. .038 9.218 (9.22)
Parker Miller Yakima, Wash. .141 9.098 (9.19)
Cooper Chun Vancouver, Wash. .058 9.421 (9.41)
Tanner Gaetz Medicine Hat, Alta. .007 7.977 (7.98)
Jr. Street
Tyler Dobson Abbotsford, B.C. .066 10.857 (10.84)
Ella Flett Tillamook, Ore. .165 10.053 (10.08)
Thunder Race of Champions
Duncan Gray Portland, Ore. .087 9.388 (9.32)
Kiandra Gaetz Medicine Hat, Alta. .122 9.053 (9.01)
Lightning Race of Champions
Zachary Gaetz Medicine Hat, Alta. .042 8.074 (8.00)
Jazzy McGrew Yakima, Wash. .108 7.970 (7.93)
Jr. Street Race of Champions
Hunter Jackson Happy Valley, Ore. .054 10.337 (10.54)
Cooper Chun Vancouver, Wash. -.047 12.806 (12.83)

Photos by Robert Grice

Thunder final
Sydney Jung, far lane, earned her first Division 6 title when she won the double-breakout Thunder final against Parker Miller.

Lightning final
Cooper Chun, far lane, won a battle of past division champions, driving around Tanner Gaetz to earn the Lightning Wally.

Jr. Street final
Tyler Dobson earned his second Division 6 Wally when he drove his '70 Chevy C-10, far lane, past Ella Flett in the Jr. Street final.

Thunder Race of Champions final
Duncan Gray, near lane, used a better reaction time to defeat Kiandra Gaetz in the Thunder Race of Champions title round.

Lightning Race of Champions final
Zachary Gaetz, near lane, joined brother Tanner as a Division 6 Jr. Championships winner when he bested Jazzy McGrew in the Lightning Race of Champions final.

Jr. Street Race of Champions final
Hunter Jackson, far lane, got the automatic nod in the Jr. Street Race of Champions title round when Cooper Chun red-lighted.